IEEE 1074 - Process Map for Software Life Cycle Process

IEEE 1074 - Process Map for Software Life Cycle Process

IEEE 1074 provides a process for creating a software life cycle process (SLCP). The SLCP is defined as the project-specific description of the process that is based on a project's software life cycle (SLC) and the integral and project management processes used by the organization. These integral processes contain configuration management, metrics, quality assurance, risk reduction, and the acts of estimating, planning, and training. It is basically the responsibility of the project manager and the process architect for a given software project to create the SLCP.

This methodology begins with the selection of proper software life cycle model (SLCM) for use on the particular project. It continues through the creation of the SLC, using the selected SLCM and the activities explained in Table 1. The methodology ends with the augmentation of the SLC with an organization's support processes to create the SLCP. The activities described in the 1074 mapping table cover the entire life cycle of a software project, from concept exploration through the eventual retirement of the software system. 1074 does not address nonsoftware activities, such as contracting, purchasing, or hardware development. It also does not mandate the use of a particular SLCM. 1074 presumes that the project manager and process architect are already familiar with a variety of SLCMs, with the criteria for choosing among them, and with the criteria for determining the attributes and constraints of the desired end system and the development environment that affects this selection. An example of life cycle derivation is shown in Figure 1.

Deriving the Software Life Cycle

IEEE 1074 Process Mapping

1074 is useful to any organization that is responsible for managing and performing software projects. It can be used where software is the total system or where software is part of a larger system. It works for pure software product organizations, internal information technology (IT) shops, software consultants, and pure project management organizations that procure and implement commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) software products. The 1074 product is the SLCP that is necessary for a specific software project.

Though 1074 explains the creation of a single, overall SLCP that is to be used for a project, the user of this standard should recognize that an SLCP can itself include lower-level SLCPs. This is the same concept as in configuration management, in which a specific configuration item can contain subordinate configuration items. This standard applies equally to the development of SLCPs at any level.

1074 consists of six major process categories:

1.    Software life cycle model process
2.    Project management processes
3.    Predevelopment processes
4.    Development processes
5.    Post-development processes
6.    Integral processes

Within the processes, there are 17 subprocesses and a total of 65 activities in the subprocesses. The 1074 mapping table summarizes these.

1074 is not a prescriptive, specific SLCM. It cannot exist without an organization's SLC. 1074 does not presume to use any particular software development methodology, nor does it recommend one. It is not self-limiting - more strict requirements may be added, if desired. Table 1 shows the IEEE 1074 map of category to process to activity.


software development, project management, configuration management
The contents available on this website are copyrighted by TechPlus unless otherwise indicated. All rights are reserved by TechPlus, and content may not be reproduced, published, or transferred in any form or by any means, except with the prior written permission of TechPlus.
© Copyright 2018 SPMInfoBlog.
Designed by TechPlus